Local citation building services, compared and scored
Six ways to get your business listed on directories, scored out of 100 on the same ten criteria. We run one of them, so the rubric is public, every fact links to the provider's own page, and we show where we lose points.
By Hashir Ali · 13 min read · Updated · Facts checked on · Updated when a price changes
On this page
Quick summary
- Highest score: Local Citations Pro, 90 of 100. Our own service, so check the rubric below rather than taking our word for it.
- Next best: BrightLocal and Loganix, 74 and 74. Both build by hand and hand over every login; Loganix guarantees a number of live citations.
- Most thorough project: Whitespark: $599 builds 80 new listings and cleans up 15, by hand, over 4 to 6 weeks.
- Best for many locations: Yext or Semrush Local, which keep every listing in sync for as long as you pay.
- Key takeaway: Pay for listings you own and a report you can check. A sync subscription only earns its yearly cost if your details change often or you run many locations.
If you want a one-off set of citations with proof you can check, the pay-once services (BrightLocal, Loganix, Whitespark and us) cost less and leave you owning the listings. If your details change often across many locations, a subscription such as Yext or Semrush keeps every listing in sync, at a yearly cost and with listings that stop updating when you leave.
On our rubric we come first, mostly on price and turnaround. We lose points on updates after delivery and score nothing for data aggregators. Read the rubric before the ranking, and weigh the criteria that matter to you.
We wrote the rubric before scoring anyone, scored ourselves from our own published pages only, and score a fact as missing when a provider's pages don't state it. If you find a fact that is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
A citation building service is a done-for-you service that takes your business details once and lists them on directories, maps and review sites, either by hand or by pushing them through a data network.
The rubric and the scores
Ten criteria, 100 points. Each score follows from the facts in the next section, and each fact comes from the provider's own pages, opened on October 29, 2026.
| Criterion | Points | Full points for |
|---|---|---|
| Published prices | 10 | The price of a standard order is on the site, with no sales call. 0 for quote only. |
| Cost of about 100 new citations | 15 | 15 up to $50, 12 up to $150, 9 up to $350, 6 up to $600, 3 above that or for a yearly plan, 0 unpublished. |
| Built by hand | 10 | People submit each listing. 3 for listings pushed automatically through a sync network. |
| Proof you can check | 15 | Every live URL and its login in your report. 8 for a dashboard only. |
| You keep the listings | 10 | Listings and logins stay yours when you stop paying. 4 when listings stay but updates stop or may roll back. |
| Turnaround | 10 | 7 days or less (or live sync). 7 for 8 to 14 days, 4 for 15 to 30 days, 2 for longer. |
| Refund or guarantee in writing | 10 | Money back when a problem can't be fixed. 7 for replacement or on-time guarantees, 4 for a short refund window, 0 for none. |
| Updates after delivery | 10 | Changes reach every listing as part of the service. 5 for a published per-listing update price, 0 if not stated. |
| Data aggregators or a network | 5 | Submissions to data aggregators, or a distribution network, offered. 0 if not offered or not stated. |
| Countries covered | 5 | 50 or more countries. 3 for 20 to 49 (or worldwide with no list), 1 for fewer. |
| # | Service | Score | Best for | Where it loses points |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Local Citations Pro (us) | 90 | One-off citation sets on a budget, in 58 countries | No data aggregator submissions; later changes are a separate cleanup order |
| 2 | BrightLocal | 74 | Agencies that already use BrightLocal's tools | Terms say charges are non-refundable; 7 to 14 days; 20 countries |
| 2 | Loganix | 74 | A guaranteed number of live citations, fast | No update or aggregator service stated; refunds become credit after delivery |
| 4 | Whitespark | 66 | Cleanup and new listings in one thorough project | 4 to 6 weeks; no guarantee of live listings; no refund stated for the Listings Service |
| 5 | Semrush Local | 62 | Keeping details in sync if you already pay for Semrush | A yearly plan per location; automated; updates stop when you cancel |
| 6 | Yext | 43 | Brands with many locations that change details often | No public price; some publishers roll back after you cancel |
| Criterion (points) | Local Citations Pro (us) | BrightLocal | Loganix | Whitespark | Semrush Local | Yext |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published prices (10) | 10 | 10 | 10 | 10 | 10 | 0 |
| Cost of about 100 new citations (15) | 15 | 9 | 9 | 6 | 3 | 0 |
| Built by hand (10) | 10 | 10 | 10 | 10 | 3 | 3 |
| Proof you can check (15) | 15 | 15 | 15 | 15 | 8 | 8 |
| You keep the listings (10) | 10 | 10 | 10 | 10 | 4 | 4 |
| Turnaround (10) | 10 | 7 | 10 | 2 | 10 | 10 |
| Refund or guarantee in writing (10) | 10 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 4 | 0 |
| Updates after delivery (10) | 5 | 5 | 0 | 5 | 10 | 10 |
| Data aggregators or a network (5) | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 | 5 | 5 |
| Countries covered (5) | 5 | 3 | 3 | 3 | 5 | 3 |
If you weight it differently
Our rubric gives each criterion a fixed weight. Yours may not, so here is who leads on each one alone, from the same table:
- Price first: us, then BrightLocal and Loganix at about $2 to $3.50 a listing.
- Proof first: us, BrightLocal, Loganix and Whitespark, each handing over the login of every listing.
- Speed first: us, Loganix, Semrush Local and Yext. Semrush and Yext update in seconds to days, but they rent the sync.
- Updates after delivery first: Semrush Local and Yext, as long as you keep paying.
- Data aggregators first: BrightLocal, Whitespark, Semrush Local and Yext. We score nothing here.
Any of those is a fair way to pick. The ranking above is what you get when none of them dominates.
Where we lose points
- Updates after delivery (5 of 10). Our listings don't sync. If your address or phone changes later, fixing the listings is a separate citation cleanup order, from $5 for 15 listings.
- Data aggregators (0 of 5). We don't sell submissions to the paid US data aggregators, such as Data Axle and Neustar Localeze. BrightLocal and Whitespark do, and Yext and Semrush push data through their own networks.
- Not everything is live on delivery. By our team's estimate, around 80% of listings are live when we deliver; some directories approve by hand later. That is not scored, but you should know it.
- We are a new brand. We can't point you to years of independent reviews yet. That is not scored either, because we couldn't measure it fairly for everyone.
Service by service
| Service | Price for about 100 new citations | How listings are made | Turnaround | Refund or guarantee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Local Citations Pro | $20 for 135 citations (plans from $5 for 30) | Submitted by hand | 5 days for 135, or 3 days express | Fixed free first, then 100% money back if we can't put it right |
| BrightLocal | From $3.20 a listing, or $2 with bulk credits (about $200 to $320) | By hand, except its data aggregator network | Typically 7 to 14 days; 24-hour express optional | Terms: charges are non-refundable |
| Loganix | $349 for 100 live directory citations, plus 30 social, photo and video | Hand-built, "100% manual" | 5 business days or less | Rejected citations replaced; on time or money back; after delivery, complaints within 30 days resolved by credit |
| Whitespark | No 100-listing package; $599 builds 80 new listings and cleans up 15 | By its listing team, by hand | 4 to 6 weeks | No guarantee of live listings; no refund stated for the Listings Service |
| Semrush Local | $60 a month per location, billed yearly, for Listing Management | Distributed automatically | Updates published in 24 to 72 hours | 7-day money-back, only for plans of 12 months or more |
| Yext | Not published: custom pricing, billed yearly | Automated, through 200+ publisher connections | Updates live in seconds | None published |
Proof and ownership: the four pay-once services all hand over the login of every listing in their report, and BrightLocal and Loganix both say the listings are yours to keep. Whitespark's report includes the links, usernames and passwords, and says about 30% of submissions are typically live when the report is sent. Ours lists every live link, login and screenshot.
Coverage: we build citations in 58 countries, Semrush lists 60 or more, Loganix 33, BrightLocal 20 and Whitespark 15 in its packages (custom orders in almost all countries). Yext names 200+ publishers worldwide but no country list.
Agencies: every service here offers white-label or unbranded reports; Semrush charges $20 a month for its white-label Pro Report.
Local Citations Pro (us)
Our service: the lowest price here, built by hand, with no sync after deliverylocalcitationspro.com · Checked live October 29, 2026 · archive history
We build citations by hand from one order: 135 for $20, in 5 days, or 3 days with express, in 58 countries. The report shows every live link, login and screenshot, and the listings stay yours. By our team's estimate, around 80% are live when we deliver; some directories approve by hand later.
Pick it if you want a one-off set of listings you own, with proof for each, on a small budget. Skip it if your details change often, or you want submissions to the paid data aggregators.
Where it scores
- The lowest price here for about 100 new citations
- Every live link, login and screenshot in the report
- Fixed free first, then money back if we can't put it right
Where it loses points
- No sync: later changes are a separate cleanup order
- No data aggregator submissions
BrightLocal
Hand-built listings inside a full local SEO toolsetbrightlocal.com · Checked live October 29, 2026 · archive history
From $3.20 a listing, or $2 with bulk credits, so about $200 to $320 for 100. Listings are built by hand, except for its data aggregator network, and the listings are yours to keep. Its page says it submits within 7 days; its FAQ says listings typically take 7 to 14 days, which is the figure we scored, with 24-hour express optional. It covers 20 countries.
Pick it if you already use BrightLocal's tools, or run an agency on them. Skip it if you want the lowest price per listing, or a refund if a listing never goes live.
Where it scores
- Built by hand, with every login handed over
- Data aggregator submissions available
- Listings are yours to keep
Where it loses points
- Charges are non-refundable under its terms
- 7 to 14 days in its FAQ
- 20 countries
Loganix
A guaranteed number of live citations, fastloganix.com · Checked live October 29, 2026 · archive history
For $349 you get 100 live directory citations plus 30 social, photo and video ones, built "100% manual" in 5 business days or less. Rejected citations are replaced and delivery is on time or money back; after delivery, complaints within 30 days are resolved by credit. It covers 33 countries.
Pick it if you want a set number of live listings, delivered on a fixed date. Skip it if you need updates or aggregator submissions after delivery, or a cash refund once it's delivered.
Where it scores
- A guaranteed number of live citations
- 5 business days or less, or money back
- Rejected citations replaced
Where it loses points
- No update or aggregator service stated
- Refunds become credit after delivery
- 33 countries
Whitespark
Cleanup and new listings in one thorough projectwhitespark.ca · Checked live October 29, 2026 · archive history
There's no 100-listing package: $599 builds 80 new listings and cleans up 15, by its listing team, by hand, over 4 to 6 weeks. The report includes the links, usernames and passwords, and Whitespark says about 30% of submissions are typically live when it's sent. It covers 15 countries in its packages, with custom orders in almost all countries.
Pick it if you want old listings fixed and new ones built in the same project. Skip it if you need listings live within a week, or a guarantee that they go live.
Where it scores
- Cleanup and new listings in one order
- Links, usernames and passwords in the report
- Data aggregator submissions available
Where it loses points
- 4 to 6 weeks
- No guarantee of live listings
- No refund stated for the Listings Service
Semrush Local
Automated sync for businesses that already use Semrushsemrush.com · Checked live October 29, 2026 · archive history
Listing Management costs $60 a month per location, billed yearly. Your details are distributed automatically and updates are published in 24 to 72 hours, in 60 or more countries. The 7-day money-back period applies only to plans of 12 months or more, and Semrush says it stops distributing and updating your details when you cancel.
Pick it if you already pay for Semrush and your details change often. Skip it if you want listings built once and kept without a subscription.
Where it scores
- Updates published in 24 to 72 hours
- Details kept in sync while you pay
- 60 or more countries
Where it loses points
- A yearly plan per location
- Automated, not built by hand
- Updates stop when you cancel
Yext
Sync for brands with many locationsyext.com · Checked live October 29, 2026 · archive history
There's no public price: Yext quotes custom pricing, billed yearly. Listings are updated automatically through 200+ publisher connections, and updates go live in seconds. Yext says it doesn't delete your listings when you cancel, but that some publishers roll back to what they had before Yext.
Pick it if you run many locations whose details change often and want one place to manage them. Skip it if you have one location, or want to see a price before you talk to sales.
Where it scores
- Updates live in seconds
- 200+ publisher connections
- Built for many locations
Where it loses points
- No public price
- No refund or guarantee published
- Some publishers roll back after you cancel
Pay once or subscribe?
A pay-once citation service builds listings you own. They stay when you stop paying, and changing them later is a new order. A listings subscription pushes your details to many directories and keeps them in sync, but the sync is what you rent.
- Yext says it doesn't delete your listings when you cancel, but that some publishers roll back to what they had before Yext.
- Semrush says it stops distributing and updating your details when you cancel, and the data left in the directories follows each publisher's own process.
- So a subscription suits businesses whose details change often or that manage many locations. A single location with stable details usually gets more for its money from a one-off order, plus a cleanup when something changes.
What happens after you order
You give the service your business details once: name, address, phone, website, category and description. It creates or claims each listing and records what it did. Within its stated turnaround you get a report with one row per directory, and from the better services, the live link and the login for each.
That is the end of what any service controls. Each directory reviews new listings on its own schedule: by our team's estimate, around 80% of ours are live when we deliver, and the rest follow as directories approve them. We estimate search engines then take 30 to 45 days to pick up new citations. No service can sell you a ranking: Google says there's no way to request or pay for a better local ranking.
What to expect from a good provider is narrower and more useful: every directory in the plan submitted, proof for each, a fix or a replacement when a listing is rejected, and a straight answer when a directory says no.
Checked but not ranked
- Moz Local. Its pages couldn't be opened for this check, and we don't score what we can't source. We will add it once its facts are checked.
- Prices that need a quote, bulk-credit tiers and add-ons behind a login. Where a help centre was blocked (BrightLocal's), the policies it may hold are not scored.
- Quality we can't measure from public pages: how well each team picks directories, how they handle your account, and how fast they answer. Ask each provider for a sample report before you buy.
How to choose
Start with how often your details change. If they rarely do, a pay-once service gives you listings you own for a one-time price. If they change often, or you run many locations, a sync subscription such as Yext or Semrush Local earns its yearly cost.
Then look at the report before the price. A service that hands over the live link and the login for every listing is giving you proof and control; on this list, BrightLocal, Loganix, Whitespark and we do.
Finally, read what the guarantee covers. A promised ranking is marketing, since no one can pay Google for a better local ranking. A fix, a replacement or a refund for listings that don't go live is something a provider does control.
Questions
Is a citation building service worth it?
Manual or automated citations, which is better?
How many citations should I buy?
What should a citation report contain?
Why did you include your own service in the ranking?
Do I keep my listings if I cancel a subscription?
Sources
The pages behind the facts above, opened on October 29, 2026. Rules, prices and plans change: check the page itself before you rely on it.
- BrightLocal: Citation Builder
- BrightLocal: Pricing
- BrightLocal: Terms and conditions
- Loganix: Local citation building
- Loganix: Citation building FAQ
- Loganix: Refund policy
- Whitespark: Listings Service
- Whitespark: Pricing
- Whitespark: Terms
- Semrush: Local pricing
- Semrush: Publishing updates
- Semrush: Cancelling Listing Management
- Semrush: Listing Management directories
- Semrush: Refund policy
- Yext: Listings
- Yext: FAQ
- Google Business Profile Help: Tips to improve your local ranking
- Local Citations Pro: Local citation building, plans and delivery
- Local Citations Pro: Refund policy
We build them by hand, and your report shows every live link, login and screenshot.